Gluten Free- Lemon Ricotta Cheesecake

23 Oct

Welcome back to yet ANOTHER fun filled cake adventure (or just my blog). Today I will be discussing the importance of Gluten free baking! I decided to make a Lemon Ricotta cheesecake, but rather than use the Graham cracker crust, I purchased gluten free chocolate biscotti. I ground them up in the food processor and added a little bit of olive oil (NO BUTTER!!!).

The ground up Biscotti (See the chocolate chips?!)

 

After this, I placed the cream cheese (Reduced fat) and Ricotta (part-skim) into the blender and mixed on Medium for approximately 5 to 10 minutes.

Note: The Kitchen Aid Mixer 🙂

 

I added the eggs next, one at a time (maintain the emulsion). The batter must come together before added the next one! After this I added the zest and juice of 2 lemons, along with lemon extract, sugar and corn starch. I mixed until nice and smoooooth.

These I bought were HUGE! The recipe called for 4 lemons, but I only needed two.

I poured the batter over the ground biscotti and baked for one 45 minutes. I used one 6 in spring form pan, and a 8 in spring form pan. To add a little bit of a crunch, and since I absolutely LOVE nuts…I made a simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water) and poured it over the almonds. I then baked them in the oven until crispy and crunchy and sweet and OMG I cannot STOP eating these!!!!

Candied almonds...these are addictive!

 

 

Nom nom nom nom

 

After 45 minutes, I took the cakes out of the oven (which is what you do when it’s finished baking haha) and scraped the sides of the spring form pan to prevent cracking!

I love the evenly browned ring on the outside!

 

After it was cooled, I added the candied almonds on top and sprinkled with powdered sugar!

 

There you have it folks! Gluten Free Lemon Ricotta cheesecake! Now who gets to eat some?!!! I hope you enjoyed!

THANKS FOR READING MY…lemony goodness…BLOGGERY!

Leave a comment